Harry Gale: Time & Space

As a recording engineer and studio owner, Harry Gale has had a hand in hundreds of Sonoma County music projects. He’s so prolific and unassuming at what he does, that many of us forget that Harry is a world class rocker who has fronted the bands Broken Ties, Lovetribe and many more.
Time & Space was recorded at Harry’s Route 44 Studio, and highlights his songwriting and playing as well as securing his contribution to Rock & Roll as a solo artist .
Joining Harry on this album are a few serious players. From their previous band Lovetribe, Dave Ray Burke can be heard delivering noteworthy vocals and guitar. New to the lineup is drummer Justin Shannon whose hard rockin’ tracks can be heard on most of the album’s offerings. Also joining are longtime friend and collaborator on drums; Mike Starkey (Broken Ties), on Bass; Blaise Sison (Family Stone) also on drums; Gary Silva (Chuck Berry, Elvin Bishop, Norton Buffalo), on percussion; Dan Ransford, on backing vocals: Shannon Rider, Shawna Miller, Bill Gannon and even Harry’s six year old son Nicholas.

Solid Air: Beautiful World

“Beautiful World” is Solid Air’s ninth full-length studio album and their second for the Jackalope label. Solid Air is a folk-rock/ Americana group based north of San Francisco, led by co-founders Allegra Broughton (vocals, guitar), and Sam Page (vocals, bass, baritone slide guitar), with longtime members Steve Barbieri (vocals, lead guitars, lap steel) and Vic Carberry (drums, bongos, percussion) and special guests Al Garth (violin), Russ Gauthier (guitar), and Doug Adamz (harmonica). “Beautiful World” covers a wide variety in the roots music bag: Beatlesque rockabilly, gorgeous ballads, full-on folk-rock, swampy blues, beatnik café, vintage pop, old-time country and gospel. High energy vocals, stellar musicianship, top-notch original songs and eclectic covers from jug band to cajun to classic rock ‘n’ roll. Good Rockin’ Tony says “Check it Out!”.

Greenhouse – Across That Lonesome Ocean

Greenhouse explores contemporary treatment of traditional and singer/songwriter material, rooted in Irish and Scottish folk music. Celtic Fusion at its best!
Greenhouse has been entertaining California audiences with their blend of lively jigs and reels, tender ballads, and rousing pub songs for over 25 years. Drawing from the immense wealth of traditional Irish, Scots, and English music, Greenhouse combines those influences with contemporary and original material to create an exciting style that is respectful of the tradition while maintaining a decidedly non-purist approach. Their original arrangements bring a creative, modern edge to time-honored material. This is not ‘folk rock’ but a world-beat fusion they call Celtic with a Kick. Greenhouse has released four CDs on Jackalope Records.

Holiday Connections

Holiday music is unique in that it’s the only genre of music that gets shelved for 11 months of the year. Maybe there’s someone who listens to “White Christmas” in July, but I haven’t met them. I’ve kicked around the idea of doing a Christmas album before, but never pulled the trigger.

Back in October, I looked at the calendar and saw that KRCB FM was set to have a mini-fundraiser in December. I help in the choosing of CD “thank you gifts” for our pledge drives, and I thought that a Holiday CD might be a cool thing. October is usually when Christmas albums get released, not planned, so if I was going to pull this off, I would have to move fast. I grabbed my rolodex and jotted down names of friends that are musicians. Because I had to work quickly, I composed a brief, two-sentence email: “Do you have a Christmas song to contribute to KRCB? I need it by Thanksgiving and I can’t pay you.”

Wouldn’t you know it: songs started coming at me! They were emailed, snail-mailed, dropped off and uploaded. Some were already recorded, some were newly recorded, some in real studios, some at home studios, one was recorded on a phone! In exactly 4 weeks from my email outreach, I had 19 songs. Traditional songs that honor the holidays, fun songs that poke fun at the holidays, instrumentals, and a song donated by my pal Mez Mezera by his sweet wife, the late Audrey Auld. The bulk of the artists are from Sonoma County, but some are not. What they all have in common is an appreciation for what we try to do here in public radio. The idea for the cover art (a radio transmitter with Christmas balls) came from our Program Director Sean Knight. The graphics were done by Greg Scherer who has worked on many Jackalope releases over the years.

Holiday Connections 2016 the CD, will be available beginning on Saturday December 10 at 2pm. Steve Delap and I will be hosting Our Roots Are Showing and beginning our (wait for it!) Holiday Connections Radio Fundraiser! December 10 thru December 17. You are invited to come to our studio in Rohnert Park, call us at (707) 584-2020, or go online at KRCB.ORG to donate. Holiday Connections 2016 the CD will be available for only $20. (Every dollar goes straight to KRCB.)

Here are the songs:

1) Dirty Cello : Merry Christmas Baby
2) Maurice Tani & Pam Brandon : Baby It’s Cold Outside
3) Wendy Dewitt & Kirk Harwood : Train Full of Joy
4) Audrey Auld : Santa Spend Xmas With Me
5) Doug Adamz : Christmas Candy
6) Jennifer Goudeau and Jan Martinelli : The Christmas Song
7) Nate Lopez : Carol of the Bells
8) Nell Robinson : Beautiful Star Of Bethlehem
9) The Sorentinos : Beatnik Christmas
10) Dave Monterey : Christmas Child
11) Terry Keady : Bring a Torch, Jeanette, Isabella
12) Kathy Kallick Band : Snowflakes
13) Geoff Muldaur : At The Christmas Ball
14) Solid Air : Tiny Reindeer
15) Jaydub & Dino : On Christmas Morning
16) Mr. Music : Santa Claus Rocks
17) David Thom : The First Noel
18) Sara Warne : When Santa Claus Met Jesus
19) Doug Jayne : What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?

Jen Tucker: Occidental Journey

Occidental Journey is a collection of heart-felt folk songs inspired by the small town of Occidental located at the edge of the west coast and Sonoma county in the forests of the redwood trees. It was in that small town where Jen met a local personality known as Ranger Rick, the unofficial mayor. As the “mayor” Ranger Rick guided Jen through the community, introduced her to local musicians, promoted her Friday shows around town and was given the task of finding Jen a band. It was at the local farmer’s market one Friday Ranger Rick found Kyle & Kevin performing and knew they would be the perfect fit. In 2011 the Jen Tucker Band was formed. By 2012 Ranger Rick was at the end of his own personal journey and encouraged Jen to write a song inspired by this small intimate off-beat town. This song became the tale of a journey, a town and it’s people, the Occidental Journey.
Occidental Journey was recorded at Jackalope Records in Santa Rosa, California, produced by Jen Tucker and Paul Lamb. Featured on the album performing is the Jen Tucker Band with Kyle Martin on lead guitar, Paul Lamb on bass & Kevin Cole on drums. This album was funded by the generous tips from the residents of Sonoma county that Jen received for performing over the past three years. Jen Tucker would like to thank everyone for their support and friendship.